software news,game news,technology news

How to Watch the BAFTA 2020 Film Awards: Stream the BAFTAs

Awards season is finally upon us, and for the British film industry the BAFTAs are the cream of the crop. Whilst UK viewers will be able to watch along on BBC One, viewers from other countries may not have the same luxury. 

Fortunately, we’ve investigated to find out exactly how all viewers can tune in, no matter where they are in the world. We have detailed the same for The Oscars. 

The nominations show Joker leading the way with 11 nominations, and The Irishman, Once Upon A Time In Hollywood and 1917 following closely behind. Read on to see the full list of nominees, who is hosting and more. 

When are the 2020 BAFTA Film Awards?

The 2020 BAFTA Film Awards will be held in London’s Royal Albert Hall this Sunday 2 February 2020 from 9pm, and hosted by TV and radio personality, Graham Norton.

The show will be aired live on BBC One and BBC One HD in the UK. It’s also likely to be aired later on TV – instead of being aired live, an edited version is usually broadcast later that evening in order to shorten the runtime.

Which channel are the BAFTAs on?

If you’re in the UK, the easiest way to watch the BAFTAs is simply on BBC One, which will be televising coverage of the ceremony on the night. 

The BBC coverage will likely last for around two hours, and will focus on the awards ceremony itself – though you’ll be able to watch red carpet arrivals from 5pm (hosted by Edith Bowman and Dermot O’Leary) on the BAFTA website and on their Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat (search ‘BAFTA’) and YouTube channels. The organisation has asked attendees to make sustainable choices for their fashion. 

The BAFTA website has confirmed that international channels will be broadcasting the ceremony live, but we don’t know yet which channels/countries will have access. However, we do know one surefire method that will work, no matter where you are in the world. 

How to watch the BAFTAs online

If you’re in the UK and pay the licence fee, the easiest way to watch the BAFTAs online will be through BBC iPlayer, which you can use to watch BBC One live.

This will also be the best way to watch the awards live if you’re outside the US. You’ll want to use a VPN like NordVPN or ExpressVPN, currently our recommended VPNs for iPlayer, which will let you browse as if you’re based in the UK, and access iPlayer as normal.

You can also take a look at our list of recommended free VPN’s, but the limited server options will make streaming quite difficult. 

As always, bear in mind that this is breaking the BBC’s terms of service, so proceed at your own risk. You’ll also need to set up a free iPlayer account, which requires a valid UK postcode.

Who is hosting the BAFTA Awards?

This year Graham Norton – known for his chat show, radio work and comedy – will make his debut as the host of the renowned film awards.

Who are the BAFTA nominees?

We’ve got all of this year’s nominations right here, with Todd Phillips’s Joker currently leading the race with 11 nominations across the categories. 

Here’s the full list:

Best Film:
“The Irishman”
“Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”

Outstanding British Film: 
“For Sama”
“Sorry We Miss You”
“The Two Popes” 

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer: 
Mark Jenkin (Writer/Director), Kate Byers and Linn Waite (Producers), “Bait”
Waad al-Kateab (Director/Producer) and Edward Watts (Director), “For Sama”
Alex Holmes (Director), “Maiden”
Harry Wootliff (Writer/Director), “Only You”
Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio (Writer/Director), Retablo

Film Not In The English Language 
“The Farewell”
“For Sama”
“Pain And Glory”
“Portrait Of A Lady On Fire”

“American Factory”
“Apollo 11”
“Diego Maradona” 
“For Sama” 
“The Great Hack”

Animated Film 
“Frozen II”
“A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon”
“Toy Story 4”

Sam Mendes, “1917”
Martin Scorsese, “The Irishman” 
Todd Phillips, “Joker” 
Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” 
Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite”

Original Screenplay 
Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins and Katie Silberman, “Booksmart” 
Rian Johnson, “Knives Out” 
Noah Baumbach, “Marriage Story” 
Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” 
Han Jin Won and Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite” 

Adapted Screenplay 
Steven Zaillian, “The Irishman” 
Taika Waititi, “Jojo Rabbit”
Todd Phillips and Scott Silver, “Joker” 
Greta Gerwig, “Little Women” 
Anthony McCarten, “The Two Popes” 

Leading Actress 
Jessie Buckley, “Wild Rose” 
Scarlett Johansson, “Marriage Story” 
Saoirse Ronan, “Little Women” 
Charlize Theron, “Bombshell” 
Renée Zellweger, “Judy”

Leading Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” 
Adam Driver, “Marriage Story” 
Taron Egerton, “Rocketman”
Joaquin Phoenix, “Joker”
Jonathan Pryce, “The Two Popes” 

Supporting Actress 
Laura Dern, “Marriage Story”
Scarlett Johansson, “Jojo Rabbit”
Florence Pugh, “Little Women”
Margot Robbie, “Bombshell” 
Margot Robbie, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood” 

Supporting Actor 
Tom Hanks, “A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood”
Anthony Hopkins, “The Two Popes” 
Al Pacino, “The Irishman” 
Joe Pesci, “The Irishman”
Brad Pitt, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”

Original Score 
Thomas Newman, “1917”
Michael Giacchino, “Jojo Rabbit” 
Hildur Guðnadóttir, “Joker”
Alexandre Desplat, “Little Women” 
John Williams, “Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker” 

Shayna Markowitz, “Joker”
Douglas Aibel and Francine Maisler, “Marriage Story”
Victoria Thomas, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”
Sarah Crowe “The Personal History Of David Copperfield”
Nina Gold, “The Two Popes”

Roger Deakins, “1917”
Rodrigo Prieto, “The Irishman” 
Lawrence Sher, “Joker” 
Phedeon Papamichael, “Le Mans’ 66”
Jarin Blaschke, “The Lighthouse” 

Thelma Schoonmaker, “The Irishman”
Tom Eagles, “Jojo Rabbit”
Jeff Groth, “Joker”
Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker, “Le Mans’ 66”
Fred Raskin, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”

Production Design 
Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales, “1917”
Bob Shaw and Regina Graves, “The Irishman” 
Ra Vincent and Nora Sopková, “Jojo Rabbit” 
Mark Friedberg and Kris Moran, “Joker” 
Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”

Costume Design 
Christopher Peterson and Sandy Powell, “The Irishman” 
Mayes C. Rubeo, “Jojo Rabbit” 
Jany Temime, “Judy”
Jacqueline Durran, “Little Women” 
Arianne Phillips, “Once Upon A Time In Hollywood”

Make Up & Hair 
Naomi Donne and Tristan Versluis Mark Coulier, “1917”
Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro and Anne Morgan, “Bombshell” 
Kay Georgiou and Nicki Ledermann, “Joker”
Jeremy Woodhead, “Judy”
Lizzie Yianni Georgiou, Barrie Gower and Tapio Salmi, “Rocketman” 

Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson, “1917” 
Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich and Dean Zupancic, “Joker”
David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester, “Le Mans ’66”
Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith and Danny Sheehan, “Rocketman”
David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson and Matthew Wood, “Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker”

Special Visual Effects
Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy, “1917”
Matt Aitken, Dan Deleeuw, Russell Earl, Dan Sudick, “Avengers: Endgame”
Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman, “The Irishman”
Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez, “The Lion King”
Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy, “Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker”

British Short Animation 
“Grandad Was A Romantic”
“In Her Boots”
“The Magic Boat”

British Short Film 
“Learning To Skateboard In A Warzone (If You’re A Girl),”
“The Trap”

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public)
Kaitlyn Dever 
Kelvin Harrison JR 
Jack Lowden 
Michael Ward 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.